top of page
Search

Episode 001- Pulling off the Bandaid

I really don’t know how to start this; introductions usually come so easily to me. But when I’m allowing myself to be vulnerable, suddenly all of my extroverted traits disappear and I become a shy, quiet individual.

And that is exactly what I intend to be.

Vulnerable.



My name is Mikeera (Mih-key-rah) and I’m here because I want to share my story. I guess, for you to understand my story and how I got here, there are a few things you need to know about me:

  1. I have a passion for helping others

  2. I have a very strong faith in God

  3. I am a Registered Nurse

  4. In 2018 I was diagnosed with PTSD and Major Depressive Disorder with Anxious Distress


The last line doesn’t even feel real.

I can’t believe it’s been so long since I’ve been living this way - relatively in secret. This is the first time I’ve ever written it down my diagnosis with personal pronouns, much less said it out loud. The past few years of my life have been marked by some of my highest highs and my lowest lows, and I think it’s about time I share my experiences.

I hope that through sharing my story - my joy and my despair, the exciting and the mundane - that I can show any of you going through a journey with your mental health that you can get through it and that you aren’t alone. And for those of you who have never experienced crippling mental health issues, I hope that a glimpse into my journey will help you understand and care for those around you who are struggling with their mental health. And lastly, I hope to inspire those suffering in silence to realize that it’s okay to reach out for help. It just may save your life.

Today, I set my intentions for myself:


I intend to use this space to create freely and openly, without fear of judgement.

I intend to use this space consistently.

I intend to use this as a platform to share what God is doing in my life and through me.

I intend that this would be a place of inspiration, hope, and growth.

I intend to make you smile.

I hope you’ll come along on this adventure with me. I’ve been putting this off for months, but I think that it’s finally the time to open up and share the real me with you.


Sincerely,


Mikeera


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page